A Step By Step Instructional Guide to Getting Your Hardship License by Central Florida’s Leading DUI Law Firm
Our firm processes more DUI BPO applications than any other Central Florida law firm. Here is our complete guide to everything you need to know to obtain a BPO license after your DUI plea in Florida.
Step 1: Enroll in a DUI School:
You must enroll and COMPLETE DUI school, choose Level 1 (for first-time offenders) and Level 2 (for those with previous offenses).
- Orange, Osceola, Seminole, and Brevard Counties: Enroll here
- Lake County: Enroll here
- Volusia County: Enroll here
- For Other Counties: to find a DUI school in your county, click here.
- Required Documentation: Be prepared with the necessary documents.
Step 2: Apply for BPO Hardship License:
- Complete the DMV’s waiver form, available in this application form
- Mail application along with the following required documents:
- Judgment / Final Disposition (paperwork from court),
- $12.00 filing fee, (money order or cashier’s check)
- DUI citation,
- Arrest affidavit, and
- DUI school completion certificate.
We suggest mailing your application to the following address for efficient processing: Orlando Office, 4101 Clarcona-Ocoee Rd, Suite 152, Orlando, FL 32810.
Step 3: Application Processing:
Wait for the DHSMV to process your application, which can take 2-4 weeks. You’ll be notified via phone or email.
Step 4: License Pickup:
Once approved, visit the nearest DHSMV office to pick up your license. A reinstatement fee of $206.25 will apply. Schedule your visit here.
What is the scope of the BPO Hardship License?
The BPO Hardship License permits driving strictly for business-related activities, which includes commuting to and from work, tasks during work hours, attending medical appointments, grocery shopping, participating in school-related functions, and attending church services. It is important to note that the BPO cannot be used for CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) operations.
Insurance Requirements: Provide proof of liability insurance on the date of arrest and current coverage. You will need to get SR-22 insurance when notified by the DMV. Click on this link to shop for the best rates.
We understand this is a challenging time, and we’re here to assist you every step of the way. If you need further help, please call our office at (407) 476-4111.