fbpx

Violation of Pretrial Release Condition in Florida

Criminal Defense Attorney in Florida

VIOLATION OF PRETRIAL RELEASE CONDITION IN FLORIDA – An Insight by an Experienced Orlando Attorney

What are the Elements of Violation of Pre-trial Release Condition in Florida?

Under Sec. 741.29 and Sec. 784.046, Florida Statutes, the elements of Violation of Pretrial Release Condition in Florida are:

  • A person was on pretrial release (including on bail bond) after being arrested for either domestic violence or dating violence; AND
  • The person willfully violated a condition of such pretrial release.

Violation of Pretrial Release Condition can be an especially harsh charge, as it is predicated in part on you simply being arrested (not even convicted) for certain crimes. Moreover, the charge will be added on top of the original domestic-violence or dating-violence charge, along with any other charges you may have.

What are the Penalties for Violation of Pre-trial Release Condition in Florida?

Violation of Pretrial Release Condition is a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida, punishable by up to 1 year of prison or probation, and a $1,000 fine.

Penalty Description
Prison or Probation Up to 1 year
Fine Up to $1,000

How Can I Fight a Charge of Violation of Pre-trial Release Condition in Florida?

When charged with Violation of Pretrial Release Condition in Florida, it’s crucial to understand the defenses available.

Motion to Suppress

One of the most common defenses is the motion to suppress, which seeks to exclude evidence that was obtained in violation of your constitutional rights.

Alibi Defense

Another potential defense is the alibi defense, where you provide evidence that you were elsewhere when the alleged crime occurred, making it impossible for you to have committed the crime.

At Leppard Law, we can use these and other strategies to challenge the State’s case or prove your innocence. Our experienced attorneys can take the steps necessary to challenge any restraining orders or charges you may currently face.

FAQs

1. What is the punishment for Violation of Pretrial Release Condition in Florida?

Violation of Pretrial Release Condition is a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida, punishable by up to 1 year of prison or probation, and a $1,000 fine.

2. What constitutes Violation of Pretrial Release Condition?

Violation of Pretrial Release Condition involves a person who was on pretrial release (including on bail bond) after being arrested for either domestic violence or dating violence, and the person willfully violated a condition of such pretrial release.

3. Can I fight a charge of Violation of Pretrial Release Condition in Florida?

Yes, there are several defenses available to fight a charge of Violation of Pretrial Release Condition in Florida, including demonstrating that the alleged crime served a legitimate purpose or providing an alibi.

3. How can Leppard Law help me?

Leppard Law can help by challenging the State’s case, proving your innocence, or moving to throw out evidence that was obtained in violation of your constitutional rights.

CONTACT US NOW TO FIGHT YOUR CRIMINAL CASE

The lawyers at Leppard Law Firm represent clients who are charged with the first-degree misdemeanor of any offense against pretrial release, if the initial charge was an offense of domestic violence, in violation of the provisions of Florida Statute Section 741.29(6). 

Call 407-476-4111 to schedule a free consultation with our defense attorneys. Contact us today!

Our Actions Speak Louder

We will always have your back. Take a look at our recent victories and see for yourself.

A Culture of Excellence

Our carefully vetted legal experts carry a breadth of experience unlike any you’ll find.

Get a Free Case Evaluation

When you’re ready to talk, we’re here for you! Get your free consultation today.